RTT integrated damper

4 replies to this topic
  • ncmountainman

Posted July 16, 2005 - 08:53 AM

anyone have any experience with this unit? or comment on RTT's overall quality of their other products? my wer is ok but i sure like the idea of being able too turn it on and off with a flick of the thumb :applause:

• probracing1

Posted July 16, 2005 - 10:03 AM

I have been running the RTT for 3 years. I too was attracted to the "adjust on the fly" feature of the RTT. I race desert in Utah. I tend to keep the master setting on the RTT on 'full' and adjust the overall dampening with the thumb adjuster as needed.
It does offer a "free to center" like a Scotts damper does. I have had mine rebuilt once by RTT. They offer fantastic customer service(family owned and run business). Now, that being said I have had a few issues with the RTT that have required assistance from RTT---whereas my bros who are running either a Scotts or a GPR(not free to center) have had zero issues with their dampers. Typically my issues have revolved around small leaks at the thumb adjuster etc...
RTT has done some 'redesigning' of their system in the last few months. I believe you can now order an RTT in the anodized color of your choice, for instance. They have also tightened up the 'free play' in the center of the dampers throw.(It used to have more free play/slop in the center)
GPR is now offering an 'adjust on the fly' system as well. The difference with the 'thumb adjusters' is GPR has a sort of wheel/dial instead of a lever arm like RTT. I believe GPR is marketing that their dial dealie offers a more finite adjustment. (which I believe is horse *^#@!!) You simply dont need a super finite adjustment---full on, half on, or completley off is more than enough adj. than you will ever need---IMO.