Blowing back light bulbs

11 replies to this topic
  • Neil Claydon

Posted July 15, 2005 - 11:49 AM

Does anyone have a cure for this problem.
XR650R , stop and tail bulbs blow with a monotonous regularity. Two bulbs on a 90 mile round trip.
Cheers Neil. :applause:

• JackAttack

Posted July 15, 2005 - 12:09 PM

I had the same problem once. I think it is from the vibrations inthe rear fender and not so much electric.

So....I started riding AROUND stuff like Yamaha's and DRZ's.....instead of just riding OVER them. Worked for me.

Maybe change to LED. Plenty of posts on it.

:applause:

• Neil Claydon

Posted July 15, 2005 - 12:14 PM

So....I started riding AROUND stuff like Yamaha's and DRZ's.....instead of just riding OVER them. Worked for me.

You have to catch them first, Look in my garage
Neil.

• ghoti

Posted July 15, 2005 - 01:00 PM

I adjusted my pedal so the light was always on accidentally. Took a while to figure out why it kept popping the bulb.

• captb

Posted July 15, 2005 - 01:58 PM

I had that problem with a aftermarket T/Lamp on my 600R, I found a bulb that had a hook in it that supported the filament in the middle, it was a factory Toyota taillamp bulb, I think, I just run the stock lamp on my 650R and I added another small 94 bulb for the brake lamp in it (rubber socket) no problemo.

• roadcam

Posted July 15, 2005 - 02:27 PM

on some real old Hondas, the tailites would quickly fail if the headlight wasn't on ... in the days of the old selenium rectifiers

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • BWB63

Posted July 15, 2005 - 03:23 PM

I had the same problem once. I think it is from the vibrations inthe rear fender and not so much electric.

Maybe change to LED. Plenty of posts on it.

That is right, if you look the filliment is broken. I went LED and that fixed that.Or you could ride a lot slower :eek:

• Neil Claydon

Posted July 15, 2005 - 03:44 PM