Carbon Fiber skid plate on e bay

10 replies to this topic
  • tagger

Posted July 13, 2005 - 01:44 PM

anyone know anything about these?

http://cgi.ebay.com/...gory=35591&rd=1

• rushfan

Posted July 13, 2005 - 02:22 PM

Ok...I'll bite. I can't imagine it being very strong. One good smack and that thing will crack. The aluminum ones from Utah Cycle are strong and very light.
A great item. :applause:

• firezwr426

Posted July 13, 2005 - 03:33 PM

I second the utah sport cycle... exellent product.. :applause:

• SteveWR450F

Posted July 13, 2005 - 03:40 PM

I have used both carbon fiber and alum. My original alum guard is from Flat land racing and they make good stuff - good price and fit. I have been using my carbon plate for about 5 months now - a couple of scratchs but that is it. Carbon makes slightly less engine noise is the biggest reason to consider fiber. If noise does not bother you, go with alum plate from Utah or Flat Land. I paid close to $100 for my carbon fiber plate so the ebay price is good. Unless you ride in a very rocky place, carbon offers pretty good protection. Take a look at the Zip-Ty website. They race with Carbon not Alum.

• rushfan

Posted July 13, 2005 - 04:17 PM

Ok...I'll bite. I can't imagine it being very strong. One good smack and that thing will crack. The aluminum ones from Utah Cycle are strong and very light.
A great item. :eek:

Well, I will admit when I'm wrong. :applause: Since my first reply, I have heard ( from talking to the fellas at work ) that Carbon is pretty strong. I would still go with aluminum though. :)

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • fish525

Posted July 13, 2005 - 05:00 PM

I got a carbon wright after I got the new 05 it lasted 4 races es and it cracked so I dumped it and picked one up from BRP just my 2$

• Lukejt

Posted July 13, 2005 - 05:22 PM