Should I get the YZ400f

10 replies to this topic
  • SWAT117

Posted July 05, 2005 - 11:12 AM

I would appreciate any feedback you guys can give me on this topic. I am considering purchasing a 1999 YZ400F that is in very good condition. I am a novice to imtermediate rider. I rode some when I was a kid and have rode friends bikes on occasion recently (mostly on a 2003 xr250r) and I do ok but that doesn't add up to alot of experience. 90% of my riding will be tight NC trailes with some open field riding. Just wanting to know if the YZ400f is going to be too much for me in the trails (36yoa, 5'10" 185lbs). I don't want to get something smaller and be bored with it in 6 months but I don't want to go too big and kill myself either. If I do get the 400f, how is the 1st gear torque at slow speed (we have a lot of hills in this area). What mods would I need to do to help with this (if any needed). Same question for suspension (would I need to change anything). Thanks for any input. Randy

• SureBlue

Posted July 05, 2005 - 12:01 PM

Welcome Randy. You sure ask a lot :) If you ride tight trails, the bike is heavy, you need to go for 13-52 gearing. It may stall easily but there is tons of torque. You can also install a heavier flywheel or a Rekluse clutch (if you want to make it a scooter). Sorry to say I'm an old school guy and MY opinion is a bike needs a clutch (all you Rekluse guys, don't wet your pants due to MY opinion). Have a test ride on a 400-426-450 if possible. But I would consider a 250F based on what you tell us. A good suspension setup for your weight and riding style is very important and often overlooked.

• Fly-nBri

Posted July 05, 2005 - 12:18 PM

I own a 99 400 also and have had very few problems at all with it. They are, for the most part, bullet proof. They are a bit heavy at times but you are about my size and can handle it with ease.