99 jetting, not there yet

9 replies to this topic
  • radish150

Posted July 02, 2005 - 03:24 PM

I been all over the place on this jetting and something is still amiss. Basicaly, im at high 80´s, super high humidity, 160 main, red number 3 clip (yeah I know you´ve heard this all before, sigh...) I was running better I think at number 4 clip, but I got a pop on decel so tried the 3rd. At this point it´s giving lot´s of problems dying at low RPM when you lug it over stuff. Also, it dies while just sitting idling. Should I go back down to 4 clip? I had to go 2 1/4 turns out to get the pop to quit at number 4. What else should I be looking at? I know something is not yet right. Like when I dive into a hole and let off the throttle when I try to open it back up it sputters and cough... and im getting all fwusterpated.

Mark...

• bg10459

Posted July 02, 2005 - 05:03 PM

I'm new at this whole jetting thing, but my limited experience tells me, and I hope someone will correct me if I'm wrong, if you're out 2.25 turns on the fuel screw you might try increasing your pilot jet one size. It may help the stalling at idle too. As far as the sputter and cough, it sounds like something I just went through. I'd expect you could correct that with a combination of leak jets and AP timing. Since you didn't say where you were with these I can't say which way you should go. I can't accurately say which way to go with the needle either, but I'm at sea level with the same 80's temp and ultra high humidity. Red # 5 worked for me. Also try raising you idle a bit too.

• radish150

Posted July 03, 2005 - 09:15 PM

Well, thanks for the feedback, but I hope to get this thing at least halfway enjoyable with tailoring the main and red needle as leaks and pilots are hard for me to get here in SA. At any rate, I think what I need is to be at 160 main and clip 4, or 165 and clip or 3? I´m getting a gas headache.

mark...

• Domenic_WRF

Posted July 04, 2005 - 12:03 PM