Did I get ripped off??

20 replies to this topic
  • byggd

Posted June 27, 2005 - 05:26 PM

Hello All. I bought my 03 WR450 a couple months ago from a dealer who rode it as a demo but never registered it so sold it to me as new for 4999 (5700 otd). Being a newbie I figured hay it's a four stoke so it will get green stickered in CA right?? :) Well I know better now.

Now to my question. I got a 02 426 so am selling the 450 for 4700 and a guy came to look at it but said there it no way it only has 120 miles on it. Please take a look at these pictures and let me know what you think. Did I get ripped off? Do you think the dealer lied to me and it has more than 120 miles on it?? Thanks for your opinion.

http://photobucket.c...=03WR450001.jpg

http://photobucket.c...=03WR450002.jpg

http://photobucket.c...=03WR450004.jpg

http://photobucket.c...=03WR450003.jpg

• black_n_blue_thumper

Posted June 27, 2005 - 05:45 PM

It does look a little rough to me. But that doesnt mean I know how many miles it has on it. Is that rust on the sprocket or red dirt? I hope you dont take it in the shorts on that bike. Let us know how it turns out for you. Good luck man. :)

• Frostbite

Posted June 27, 2005 - 05:50 PM

It looks like it probably has more than 120 on it but hard to say for sure. The paint worn off the frame and engine could have been easily done in a couple of days riding in mud. The points on the footpegs look a bit rounded off and the kickstart lever has a good notch in it from hitting the footpeg. I guess 120 is possible but unlikely, my first guess would be more. It's pretty easy to spin out the speedo cable. As a demo, the dealer knew he was selling it so keeping miles off to get near to new coin for it wouldn't be a bad idea. Ask the dealer where he rode. If he says all offroad, 120 hard muddy miles could scuff the bike up as it looks in the pics. If he says on road then I'll bet there's more than 120.

• walent215

Posted June 27, 2005 - 06:32 PM