jetting confusion

5 replies to this topic
  • budweiserfrog

Posted June 18, 2005 - 04:49 AM

I have no experience jetting wise at all.
Having bought a new 04 wr450 with yamaha uk fitted road kit it will not idle and revs on hunting when i want to stop. i have found that it has been down jetted a lot so i have fitted:-
Main jet no 165.
Pilot jet no 48.
Fuel screw 1.75 turns.
also Needle standard & clip position no 4.
Altitude 0-4000ft.
Temperature 70-80.
Now the snap of power is great,
Idle revs steady, couldn't be nicer,
Revs don't hunt anymore,
BUT at a steady rev, especially a low or mid rev it seems to choke up and cough.
If i release throttle it will idle fine & if i increase throttle i need to open it up well to clear the roughness.
There is no popping.
What do i do?
I'm not sure whether to play with the fuel screw or adjust the needle clip position or what? :)

• Indy_WR450

Posted June 18, 2005 - 04:53 PM

disconnect your TPS at the carb and the problem is solved! :)

• budweiserfrog

Posted June 18, 2005 - 11:34 PM

:) I've solved it.
When i took the top off the carb i noticed that i'd forgot to put the little grub screw that holds the needle down back in.
It's always the same, you learn by your mistakes.
After a test run it was near perfect.
I raised the needle clip to position 3 & :) .
Thanks Indy for your suggestion, how will the tps disconnected affect my bike?

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • Indy_WR450

Posted June 19, 2005 - 05:10 AM

Your TPS will act like it is cutting out the ignition at steady 1/4 throttle while you maintain constant speed. Some members like to have a switch added to turn the TPS on and off. TPS plays with timing at low rpm and full throttle technical riding. :)

• deadcarnahans

Posted June 19, 2005 - 01:16 PM