O5 WR450F Canadian bike

8 replies to this topic
  • foxomatica

Posted June 13, 2005 - 08:21 PM

Hi everyone.

I am new to the thread and new to a 05 WR450F. I have been reading all the past threads about the power mods and I am sure you are all board of it but I have a few questions. My dealer said because I have a Canadian model I have no grey wire and there fore no "snip". I however found the grey wire and was wondering if I should snip it?

Where can I get the "Zyp ty" fuel screw? My dealer is not up on a lot of this stuff.

Thanks

• RB2

Posted June 14, 2005 - 02:42 AM

I read about the Grey wire and unplugged it. Talked to a very good Yamaha parts guy in Vancouver and he said the cdi mapping is different than the US model. So I have plugged back in but have not had a chance to ride yet so I can not say if there is a differance. Anybody correct me if I am wrong :)

• BIGMatt

Posted June 14, 2005 - 10:16 AM

My 2004 Can WR450 came with the YZ throttle stop, no air box plugs, and better jetting. But I have not touched the grey wire.
The Can models are set up differently from the US becuase of the US pollution laws.

• woody12

Posted June 15, 2005 - 07:08 PM

i was told the same thing by my dealer and by a friend so i have all the mods but the grey wire done.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • toyota_mdt_tech

Posted June 15, 2005 - 08:23 PM

i was told the same thing by my dealer and by a friend so i have all the mods but the grey wire done.

04 Canadian WR's was the last year in which they were different (not plugged up from the factory, I know, I own one). But from 05 onward, the Canadian and US WR's are identical!

• RB2

Posted June 16, 2005 - 10:00 AM

If You find part #s, You will see there is a differance in CDIs between the Canadian and US

• foxomatica

Posted June 16, 2005 - 08:59 PM

Thanks everyone for all the info.

Hey RB2, who was the parts guy you talked to in B.C.?