650L -big bore and cam

13 replies to this topic
  • CheGuevara

Posted June 13, 2005 - 11:59 AM

I'm a bit of a mechanical newbie and definitely lazy, but I've finally managed to nearly complete a total rebuild of this motor (bought it completely buggered -replaced every bearing inside (that wasn't cheap), new rod, had it bored for the 10.25:1 675cc Wiseco, mild port job by Jay Wright (BareBones Machine) and plan for the Hot Cams stg1 cam. I'm replacing the entire rocker arm assembly, have installed new stock valves and springs etc... basically an all-new motor.

My question is to those who have the same cam/piston combo. Is it necessary to mill the piston crown or is there sufficient clearance?

I haven't installed the cam yet and I'm hoping to get this thing together without having to clay the head as I've never done it before, and as mentioned previously I'm lazy and don't want to put it together, take it apart and reassemble again. Once assembled I plan to spin the motor by hand of course to make sure I don't feel contact, but I'm aware this may not be a good predictor of what will happen while the motor is spinning at speed.

Thanks in advance,
-Mike

• BWB63

Posted June 13, 2005 - 12:14 PM

It is major important to check the valve to piston clearance. I know that is not what you want to hear. Need to check the spring bind on the valve springs and degree the new cam is a good idea. Lot's of money riding on doing these checks. You sound like you like to go to Vegas :D

Sounds like you built a 50hp XR650L!!! :) With header/muffler, Uni air filter, and a pumper carburetor that is what you should have. A 48% increase in power over a Stock XR650L :) :D That will be a awesome jump in power. Did you ride the bike before you started the rebuild?

• CheGuevara

Posted June 13, 2005 - 12:56 PM