2003 YZF450 Potential Purchase

8 replies to this topic
  • ysr04

Posted June 11, 2005 - 07:57 PM

Looking at possibly picking up a used YZF450, $3600 is the asking price. The bike is a ex race bike and has been taken care of by a factory dealership. The bike looks well maintained. I have approximatelely 17+ years of riding experience on the street but have not been off road for quite some time. I was thinking of easing back into this with a 230 or a 250 but I stumbled onto this 450. I am 6' 4 and weigh 200 pounds. All I was searching for was a bike to plug along the trails with my kids on. Will this be the wrong bike to do this with? I understand that I will have a blast and be able to pull some torque wheelies with this bike, which I remember the good old days were like on a friends early YZ400. I loved that bike. I had posted in previous forums asking about the 230's and 250's, some said go for a bigger bike. But should I be going this big?

Lastly, is there anything that I should be looking for on this bike in terms of wear being an ex race bike? Like I said, it looks pretty solid and complete, just want to make sure I'm not missing something. I was also looking for something with electric start being that I was going to be riding the trails with the kids, but the trade off of power will be worth it. Are the 450's a mule to start? Any information on this would be helpful.

• B86_Racer

Posted June 11, 2005 - 09:01 PM

If I were you, I would go with a 250F. I raced an 03 250F when I lived in Texas and I was about 6'0 230lbs and that bike ripped. I put on a Factory 4 pipe which added some over-rev and like I said, the bike just plain ripped! I honestly think a 450 might be a little much if all you want to do is putt around with your kids. :)

• ChR1s

Posted June 12, 2005 - 09:36 AM