'03 WR450 Suspension Questions

4 replies to this topic
  • bg10459

Posted June 02, 2005 - 07:57 AM

I recently picked up an 03 WR450. I have done all the free mods and now I'm attacking the rear suspension. I'm a beginner rider, but I get around pretty good, as I'm told. I've been riding Mtn bikes aggresively for years. I weigh about 250 lbs without gear and have determined that a Race Tech 6.0 spring will probably be best. From my Mtn bike days, I understand pre-load and compression and rebound damping and have a good idea of what I want to do with them and the new spring. Please tell me if the following laymans explanation of the adjusters is correct:

High speed rebound damping - Top of shock reservoir, outer nut - clockwise = more damping or slower rebound.

Low speed rebound damping - Top of shock reservoir, inner screw - clockwise = more damping or slower rebound.

Comression damping - Bottom of shock - clockwise = more damping or stiffer compression.

Is there a high and low compression damping adjustment? The manual seems to leave out some of this info, or I am missing something.

Onto the jetting next. Thanks in advance.

• Bamster

Posted June 03, 2005 - 05:52 AM

High speed compression. Adjustment for desired stiffness when shock is compressed fast.
Low speed compression . Adjustment for desired stiffness when shock is compressed slow.
Rebound (bottom of shock) Adjustment for how fast the shock rebounds after compressed.
Here is a good video to help you adjust your sag after you have found the right spring.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • pjriss

Posted June 03, 2005 - 07:16 AM

You got the compression/rebound locations backward. Both compression adjustments are at the top of the shock, the rebound is at the bottom for the shock.

• bg10459

Posted June 03, 2005 - 09:50 AM

Great, thanks fellas. Is it the same on the forks? Compression on top, rebound on bottom?

• pjriss