So far.....05 WR450F or 05 CR450X ??

36 replies to this topic
  • MKP

Posted May 11, 2005 - 08:50 AM

I'm new with 05 WR450F (2 weeks).
I was just about to buy the new 05 CRF450X (didn´t try it out), but chose the Blue-one.
Due to the amount of mods I have already done (Throttle Stop, Grey Wire, Baffle out, AIS out, Snorkel out) and the many others to come (Jetting), I wander if I chose well ? :)
I agree that my money is already "out of the pocket" :D , but I´d like to relax my soul knowing better if my choice was good or bad.
If anybody had tried out both models, please give me your opinion.
Thank you

• rushfan

Posted May 11, 2005 - 11:37 AM

I was considering the Honda but talked myself out of it for a couple of very important reasons ( to make a long story short ).
#1 Maintenance. The Honda needs the valves adjusted a lot more often and I didn't want to always have to wrench on my bike. I just want to gas and go.
#2 The wr beat the Honda in all of the taste test for 05...Power, handling, shifting etc.
It even beat out the new KTM exc 450.

• MKP

Posted May 11, 2005 - 11:51 AM

OK.
Today I rode it just for a while after all the free mods (Jets still stock)
Its a rocket compared with my old '99 YZ400F and lighter.
My only problem now is a lot of backfire and that after its warmed up it doesn´t start unless I use the choke. :)
Also going steady on 1st low it works uneven, accelerate & deccelerate alone.
Thank you

• bandit99

Posted May 11, 2005 - 11:55 AM

The WR450 comes from the factory with a lean pilot jet. Try going up a size, it may help. Rejetting top to bottom would be best.

• DesertWR

Posted May 11, 2005 - 12:13 PM

OK.
My only problem now is a lot of backfire and that after its warmed up it doesn´t start unless I use the choke. :)
Also going steady on 1st low it works uneven, accelerate & deccelerate alone.
Thank you

Rejet your Carb!

• Dan_Lorenze

Posted May 11, 2005 - 12:28 PM