Chronic Countershaft seal leak

6 replies to this topic
  • dirtgood1

Posted May 02, 2005 - 10:56 AM

I have an 01 426 , that no matter what I do, I can not get the countershaft seal to stop leaking. I have replaced the seal, the oring, and the bushing and it still continues to leak. I was very carefull while installing the seal and the oring, so as not to damage them. I coated everthing with new oil prior to installing the spacer/bushing(that sits behind the sprocket). I also inspected the shaft for nicks or burrs that could damage the oring, and found nothing. I am hoping someone has had a similar problem and found a solution. Right now, the only thing I can come up with is that being new to the fourstrokes that I am over servicing the engine with oil, and that the extra oil has to go somewhere. I have been following the manual as far how much oil is required and how to check the level. I am a mechanic and know that oil literally is the lifeblood of these engines, and suggestions would be greatly appreciated. thanks

• MotoGoalie

Posted May 02, 2005 - 11:30 AM

If you have ever had the chain TOO tight (it should be about 4 fingers sloppy at the end of the swingarm rubber) and hit a jump, bump or whatever, it may have bent the shaft ever so slightly. If that's the case, which i suspect it is, you'll either have to replace it or just live with it.

• grayracer513

Posted May 02, 2005 - 12:36 PM

The first thing is to double check that the leak is actually coming from the output shaft. Other possibilities on that side are the neutral switch, clutch actuator, shifter shaft, and even around a case bolt

If it is, then I suggest checking for vertical/horizontal play (perpendicular to the shaft axis) in the output shaft left hand bearing. Should be very little. Too much, and the seal won't be able to cover the motion.