Valves - just in time!

11 replies to this topic
  • Hamish

Posted May 01, 2005 - 06:39 PM

Hi everyone, been a few months since I've been in here. Thought i'd share this little expereince with you all. I've known for a while that my centre inlet valve was pretty much buggered (on the smallest shim, clearance closes up 0.05 ever 10 hours or so). Little did I know just how close to disaster it really was. I'm feeling lucky so I might go buy a lottery ticket.

Posted Image

• Bamster

Posted May 01, 2005 - 07:35 PM

Wow . That was close.

• Math

Posted May 02, 2005 - 05:59 AM

OK... everybody might laugh but I'm a valve newbie. What's wrong with this valve? (If it does not take too much of your time) :naughty:

• Hamish

Posted May 03, 2005 - 03:24 AM

the hard coating has worn off this valve causing it to seriously wear on the area that touches the valve seat. The signs that you bike is suffereing from this problem is when your valve clearance keeps closing up. This is indicating that the valve is sinking deeper inside the head. It wouldnt be long before this valve 'mushroomed' because the area above the seating surface has worn that thin that it simply bent. Hope this makes sense. The bottom line is this. A broken $100 valve will cause $1000's of damage. It's cheaper the replace the valves first, than have to replace the piston, barrel, head and the valves.

• Bamster

Posted May 03, 2005 - 03:52 AM

What Hamish said. :naughty:

I finally had to re shim my 99 WR 400. It was just under spec.
I had 3 175' a 174 and a 172. I am assuming they were stock although I bought the bike used in 2002. I put 170's in all but the middle valve where I was able to use the 172. How many more times do you think I will be able to re-shim
before replacing the valves? How far before the hard coating is gone?