Hot Cams dont seem to fit.

23 replies to this topic
  • Parx_400

Posted April 24, 2005 - 07:19 PM

I am trying to install a set of hot cams on my bike and they dont seem to spin as free as the stock ones when the cam holder in torqued down. it seems like a very tight fit where the barring sits in the head. plus the stock clips dont seem to stay in place. HELp some one i suck at these things and it is my first time.

• cowboyona426

Posted April 24, 2005 - 09:35 PM

Try loosening the cam cap bolts a little, the cams should be able to spin freely with the caps installed. Also, double check to make sure you got the right cams.

• Daz_426_02

Posted April 24, 2005 - 11:59 PM

Also check the two cams next to each other for a good comparison.
You say they aren't turning as easily? Is that with the cams torque down? Are you using a torque wrench? Also when fitting the new cam make sure to put a healthy amount of engine oil where the bearings run for the start up.

Good luck

• FFRacing79

Posted April 25, 2005 - 04:14 AM

I have found that even some of the stockers don't spin free when new. The book calls for 7-8 ft/lbs torque but I only go to 5(60 in/lbs). I just put them in the lathe and polish the journals till they spin free. If they don't spin free, it is possible they might gall. Tdub

• sirthumpalot

Posted April 25, 2005 - 04:45 AM

I am trying to install a set of hot cams on my bike and they dont seem to spin as free as the stock ones when the cam holder in torqued down. it seems like a very tight fit where the barring sits in the head. plus the stock clips dont seem to stay in place. HELp some one i suck at these things and it is my first time.

USE A GOOD TORQUE WRENCH! Too tight and as stated above this may end in a bad way.

• Parx_400

Posted April 25, 2005 - 05:42 AM

i used a torque wrench but it is not all that good. and i did it to the specs both yamaha and hot cams said. i put oil on the new cams but maybe not enough.

• Dolce_Grappa