Help with a Honda XR70 problem!

14 replies to this topic
  • mboule

Posted April 17, 2005 - 09:19 PM

I acquired a 1999 Honda XR70 and was changing the oil for the first time. I don't have a manual yet and I took off the wrong bolt on the bottom of the crankcase. When I removed the bolt, a metal tube with several holes in it came out. I replaced it (making sure that I put it back the way it came out) and then removed the correct bolt to drain the oil. I replaced the oil, but now when I start it, it makes a funny pinging sound from the crankcase. Any ideas?

Thanks in advance!

P.S. Yes, I am ordering a manual!!

• Ramcc4x4

Posted May 06, 2005 - 01:51 PM

I usually stay in the 600/650 forum because of my XR650R so this is my first time in this forum, which will explain the late response. What you did was remove the cam chain tensioner. It needs to be reinstalled in a certain way (your manual will show the correct order). Also, even when it is properly installed it will need to be "manipulated" with a long, skinny flat blade screwdriver. If you remove the timing chain cover while you install the cam chain tensioner you can see when you get it installed correctly because the visible slack in the chain will be eliminated.

The noise you hear is the timing chain slapping against the inside of the case.

• mboule

Posted May 10, 2005 - 11:04 PM

Thanks Ram! I got the manual and figured out that it was the cam chain tensioner. The spring was missing so I ordered it and just got it yesterday.

• EricCartman

Posted May 15, 2005 - 05:01 PM

OK ... I think this was/is the problem with my bike too! I removed that bolt on the bottom of the case - all the stuff popped out, so I pushed it all back in.

So there is a certain way that had to go back in??