new wr400 owner needs help!

3 replies to this topic
  • robman

Posted November 06, 2000 - 12:24 PM

were is the air screw on the carberator and how do you ajust it to get the dead spot at the bottom end out. I've been riding for 30 years but never had a pumper carb it's totally diffent from ones i've worked on!!

thank's for the info , I ordered a # 45 pilot today I'll let you know what happens!

[This message has been edited by robman (edited 11-07-2000).]

• Hick

Posted November 06, 2000 - 01:24 PM

Originally posted by robman:
were is the air screw on the carberator and how do you ajust it to get the dead spot at the bottom end out. I've been riding for 30 years but never had a pumper carb it's totally diffent from ones i've worked on!!

There is no air screw. Idle mix is adjusted via a fuel screw, the diff. is significant because, unlike other carbs, in is lean, out is rich because you are regulating fuel and not air.

The screw sits in a recessed hole in the fuel bowl. You can access it without removing or loosening the carb if you have a very short screwdriver. I use the bit end only (no handle) from one of those cheap combination screwdrivers. I marked it with nail polish so I could count the turns.

You may want to note the initial setting before you mess with is (although I think they are all set at 1.75 turns out). A quarter turn at a time is plenty, that is a lot of difference. You probably don’t want to go out past 2.5 turns, I think a few guys have had their fuel screw (or pilot screw) fall out.

Hope this helps!

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • robman

Posted November 06, 2000 - 05:23 PM

Originally posted by Hick:
There is no air screw. Idle mix is adjusted via a fuel screw, the diff. is significant because, unlike other carbs, in is lean, out is rich because you are regulating fuel and not air.