WR450F Jetting Questions

15 replies to this topic
  • Fredneck75

Posted April 15, 2005 - 06:21 AM

What a great site - very infomative (And entertaining at times). Thank you everyone for all the great posts. :naughty: I picked up a 2005 WR450F last week. I've done all the free mods, and all I have left is the jetting. I have the JD jet kit and the zip-ty fuel screw. I've never done jetting before, and have a couple of questions. Most of my riding will be 1000 feet or less, and 75-90+ degrees (Typical MD) - so I wanted to start out with Indy's recommendation in the jetting d-base:

165 main, JD Red #5, 48 Pilot, 1.25 turns, 68 starter jet, #50 leak jet

Questions/observations (Correct me if i'm wrong):
-The 165 main jet I believe is included in the JD kit, as well as the red needle.
-I assume the 1.25 turns is for the fuel scew.
-The stock pilot jet (Yamaha calls this the slow jet?) I believe is a 45, but the diagram gives a part number for the 48 [4MX-14948-06-00].
-The stock leak jet I believe is #50, so I should be ok there.
-Trying to figure out the 68 starter jet though. Can someone point this out on the diagram? (Hopefully this link works). Not sure what Yamaha calls this.

http://jersey-riders...0fpartimage.bmp

Thanks to all! :naughty:

• waterdog3

Posted April 15, 2005 - 08:28 AM

I Think It Is #21 On Your Diagram.

• stonewall

Posted April 15, 2005 - 08:30 AM

I'm just south of you and ride from 1000' to 4500'. IMO I'd send the JD kit back and pick up an '04 WR needle. I'm running a 168 main, 04 needle #4, 48 pilot, 1.5-1.75 turns, 68 starter, stock leak jet. The bike runs crisp and strong, no bog at all, and starts as soon as I hit the button. I'm not knocking the JD kit, I just don't see the need when the 04 needle works perfectly.

• Fredneck75

Posted April 15, 2005 - 10:05 AM

OK, thanks. I think you're right. I see that a #68 starter jet is available under the YZ parts list. It only listed a #65 under the WR parts list and was throwing me off.