Techies, please help, I'm screwed

14 replies to this topic
  • cj1371

Posted April 11, 2005 - 04:41 PM

Hi guys
THanks for reading this. I have an '03 YZ450F and I bought it used 6 months ago. I was 4 miles in the trails one day and I stalled it. I tried kicking it over and the kickstart fell off. Broke the kickstart shaft so I got a new one. I'm new to motocross but I thought I could handle this. I put it all back together with the new parts and I have 2 problems. 1) My bike will go into neutral fine but when in gear with the clutch pulled in the tire still drags. When I get a little momentum I can feel the clutch letting it roll but it's still really tight. I'm sure part of this is from no oil but I wouldn't think it to be this tight. Did I overtighten the clutch springs? 2) My kickstart goes down but won't come back up. Do I have to "wind" the spring up before putting it back in? Thanks for the help guys, I've been down 2 months so hopefully this gets fixed soon. Thanks again guys

• mxmhero

Posted April 11, 2005 - 05:22 PM

Hi, Did u use a manual to do it?, If not i suggest picking one up it will help you alot, Did u take the clutch basket etc. off, sounds to me like u have something wrong with the clutch push rod maybe, Overtightening the springs won't cause that.

• skthom2320

Posted April 11, 2005 - 05:33 PM

Neither my YZF nor my CRF will roll when they are in gear with the clutch in when cold.

• cj1371

Posted April 11, 2005 - 05:51 PM

MXMHero-Thank you Sir. I did not use a manual, I received a 10 minute class from "someone who knows what they're talking about" Didn't work out too good. I will take your advice and pick one up tomorrow. I did take the clutch basket off.
SKTHOM-it use to roll a lot easier than this, thanks for the help guys. I guess I was looking for the easy way out. next time i'll do it right.

• mxmhero

Posted April 11, 2005 - 06:56 PM

np man, we all learn the hardway sometime or another, wish i could be of more help.

• Birdie426