Mods for 2003 650L?

21 replies to this topic
  • MrGraham

Posted April 11, 2005 - 11:28 AM

Hello,

I am new to TT but must say am impressed with the wealth of knowledge here. I have been looking around a fair amount and have some ideas about what I should be doing to modify my bike but don’t have the experience I need. I am picking up a 2003 650L that is stock and need help with mods. I want to get the most out of it but am unsure where to begin. I know I need to jet it, change sprockets, new exhaust…. and so on but I am not sure where to start and where to finish. I would really appreciate any outline or help I can get regarding mods that will help me get the most out of it.

Thanks,

Shawn

• jlpskydive

Posted April 11, 2005 - 11:44 AM

Do a search on this forum. They have been posted many times. Look for posts by XR650l Dave if it can be done to the L hes tried 2X.

• MrGraham

Posted April 11, 2005 - 11:57 AM

Hey Jlp - I have been reading to some degree but will keep diging. I was wondering if they all needed to be done at once/in order or if I can make changes over a few weeks to help the pocket? I'll keep reading. Thanks!!

• jlpskydive

Posted April 11, 2005 - 03:39 PM

Do the jetting first!!!!!The bike is jetted very lean to start with and doing the other mods before hand just makes it worse. After the jetting you can take your time with the mods good luck and enjoy. I love mine.

• jlpskydive

Posted April 11, 2005 - 03:40 PM

Alos do a search in the dual sport forum and look for post by Tourture Chambers to see what the bike is capable of in skilled hands. It will blow you away.

• KIWIWAY

Posted April 11, 2005 - 04:20 PM