'01 WR 426 - 1 Mod - 2 problems

4 replies to this topic
  • Hays82

Posted April 07, 2005 - 08:31 AM

(First post, sorry if its a little long) Just want to state that I love this bike ('01 WR 426) as much as anyone could, but there are a couple of annoyances that I would not mind clearing up. Background: white brothers e-series slip-on, valves 'serviced' once, removed the throttle stop, I am not a mechanic. This bike had no problems until I put the new pipe on and then it started fouling plugs occassionally, but [COLOR=Red]have never touched the carb [/COLOR] . I then removed the the throttle stop and I was amazed at the difference (positive). I then took it to the shop to get serviced and they reccommended they adjust the valves. That is when the second problem arose. Now the bike will sometimes refuse to start, even with a new plug, and I have to wait a while until it decides its ready to start. The weird thing is that I will kick it 10 or 20 times (choke on and off) and get nothing, then all of a sudden, usually with the choke off, kick 21 and it will start like nothing ever was wrong and it settles into a nice idle. Most recently it seems that the plug fouling is more frequent and is even worse when I remove the air-box lid. Now I just do not ride it quite as hard and the plugs seem to last longer. I also now have an '03 yz 250f and therefore do not ride it as frequently, so maybe that is a factor as well. So, finally, my question is, is this a jetting issue, valve issue, garage jelousy or what? Any advice would be great. This is a great site I only found a few days ago and the answers are probably here somewhere, I just could not find them. Thanks,
Dave

• BrandonW

Posted April 07, 2005 - 08:43 AM

Hard starting is usually a sign of valves heading out of tolerances. Fouling of the plugs is getting, usually a sign of richness.

If it were me, I'd go in an check those valves, and take a hard look at the plug. Maybe come down one size in the main jet.