Suspension report. Xr650(long)

No replies to this topic
  • slowxr

Posted April 05, 2005 - 03:19 PM

Well, after 4000 miles I finally got my suspension done. I'm an advanced beginner and prefer smooth desert trails. I hate whoops but like cruising double and triple track in 4&5th gear. More of a trail rider/destination type rider. I'm about 220-230 with gear, tools,water etc. I've got a 4.5 gallon gas tank on my pig.
My only complaint was the sharp, fast, washboard type bumps that went straight through the handlebars and into my hands. Small jumps were fine. When the bike was new, I changed the fork oil out and put fresh 5 weight back in. No change. I was told 2.5 weight would make it "plushier". I tried the 2.5 with no improvement. I played with the clickers on both ends and never noticed a change. I've went from both extremes on the clickers and never noticed a difference in feel. I blamed this on my lack of experience or just that I simply ride slow.

So, after many miles I decided I'd have done what I should have done a year ago. I spoke with a few So Cal suspension guys and settled with Rob Barnum. I think what sold me on Rob was that I was going to be able to "test ride" the bike at his property when I picked it up. Rob is also well known for racing Baja on the Xr650. That meant alot to me. I wanted to make sure the bike was set up propertly and get to go over the basics with Rob.

I told Rob that my only complaint was the forks. I didn't notice the shock at all. I don't think I had ever bottomed the front or rear. Rob's thought was that the pig had problems with "high speed" stuff. I learned that "high speed" wasn't the speed of the bike but the speed the fork is compressed. I took his word on it and he promised a plush and stable ride. He recommended for my weight, different springs(both front and back), re-valving and fresh oil and nitrogen(I think)? I had faith in Robs approach and left my bike with him.