Moab Routes for Rookies

2 replies to this topic
  • Guest_Guest_*

Posted November 01, 2000 - 10:10 PM

My name is Tim Buhler and I am heading to Moab for some riding so I thought I'd ask the "experts" for some riding routes. I was wondering if you could give me a Yea or Nea on a couple routes I want to take my wife on. We are coming to MOAB on our dirt bikes over thanksgiving for 4 days. She is a veteran street rider but a rookie dirt rider with an XR200. I am a novice/intermediate dirt rider as well and I'm on a YZ426F. Neither bike is street legal. I have selected the following routes to take her on based on conversations with others here at work and a map recon. What we want are relatively easy routes with great views.

My self proclaimed "experts tell me these are the "one's":

Onion Creek Trail- easy with water crossings
Poison Spider- 1st part is easy and fun but it gets harder
Klondike Bluffs- Marked Blue on the map but it's easy?
Kane Creek trail- really cool views at the canyon rim
Kane Springs Road- nice view
Monitor Merimac Trail- Absolutely must do!

Some others I hear are fairly easy but with great views are
Willow Flats Road
Gemini Bridges
Salt Flats road to Tower Arch & Marching Men
Behind the rocks to Prostitute Butte (I've been here on a bike so I know it's easy and fun)

No one knows any fun routes up in the La Sal's, I really like it up there so I'd love to find somewhere to ride up there as well.

Any tips you can give me on routes would be much appreciated.

Thanks for your time.

Tim Buhler
Golden CO
00 YZ426F
96 CBR900RR
79 TT500 Flat Tracker

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • paul913

Posted November 01, 2000 - 11:12 AM

Hello Tim,