Power Pack vs. PowerNow

4 replies to this topic
  • beakr

Posted March 31, 2005 - 04:02 PM

Anybody use, or know someone who is using, a Power Pack by Starting Line Products? I've heard of the Power Now insert, and I've seen discussed on TT a "free do-it-yourself" carburator mod that has a similar effect. What is you guys' experience with these things? Or is my money better spent on a JD Jetting kit? :naughty:

• Alan Pilibosian

Posted April 07, 2005 - 10:41 AM

I just tried the power pack on my 03 WR450. It think it helped a little in the low to mid range. The power seems smoother. I was hoping it would help my off idle bog but it didn't. To bad it wasn't that easy. I'll keep jetting away untill I get it right! I have no experience with the power now to compare it with, but for $40 I'm pretty happy. If anyone has any jetting tips I would appreciate it! 03 Wr450, grey wire cut, throttle stop cut, air box snorkle gone, removed exhaust baffle. 5000-7000 feet elevation. Also is there anything special that needs to be done if I remove the battery and starter? THANKS! P.S. Endurocross Rocks!

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • eightballeddy

Posted April 07, 2005 - 02:54 PM

Alan.....you need to order a #40 leak jet. That should solve the bog :naughty: . If that dosen't quite do it you can try the bk mod. A simple change of the leak jet worked beautifuly for me though.

• mtrablue

Posted April 08, 2005 - 07:39 AM

the bk mod is not for '03+ wr's. it lets older wr owners limit the ap squirt much like the taffy mod but is more adjustable. just the oppisite of a smaller leak jet.

make sure you have a 48 pilot and, at the very least, a '04 wr needle. i have never jetted a bike for 5000ft+ elevation, but these have been standards for most all '03 wr450's (along with the 40 leak jet). don't hesitate to try different needle clip positions.