New Bike, What's First?

16 replies to this topic
  • derobinson

Posted March 29, 2005 - 07:16 PM

Hi everyone. I am new to TT and have my first questions. I just bought a 2005 YZ250F. I am not a very experienced rider yet, but I love this bike. I had originally bought a CRF 150, but after about two weeks I went back to get a real bike! (No offense Honda riders).

Anyway, I have 2 quick questions.

1. What is the best first mod? I am thinking exhaust, and I was told by the parts guy where I bought my bike that a Vortex Ignition makes a lot of difference.

2. What is all this hype about jetting? Is this something that is easy to do? I did notice that my bike backfires when I am starting it cold, but it goes away after it is warm. Would a jetting adjustment fix this?

Thanks,

• yzf450jack

Posted March 29, 2005 - 08:11 PM

You can start with a fuel screw :naughty:

• Crabtree426

Posted March 29, 2005 - 09:32 PM

The powernow and powernow plus are nice mods if you trail ride. They give your bike a crisper feel on the low end. Also, if you T.R. get the summers seal savers. They're a must.

• ovrrdrive

Posted March 30, 2005 - 01:51 AM

The first thing I'd do if I had a YZ250f, is post this question in the 250f forum! :naughty:

Congrats on the purchase and welcome to the forum.

Read up on the jetting issues, as most of the bikes come from the factory way too lean which makes them run bad, backfire and pop a lot, and run hot. There is a 95% chance that you'll need to change the jets to make it run right. But every bike is different, and everyone's climate is different too.

Your results may vary...

Oh yeah, and the first mod to my bike was the Zipty adjustable fuel screw. It's worth its weight in gold.

Next was the kickstand for my trails only YZ450, then a 13T front sprocket to make 1st gear more useable in the woods, and lastly a Pro Moto Billet endcap with spark arrestor and quiet insert.

My bike is everything I ever wanted it to be.

• Ga426owner