Got a '00 YZ426 Now What?

6 replies to this topic
  • yamarider426

Posted March 23, 2005 - 08:36 PM

Hello everyone!
OK first of all I just found out about this site (in wich I am very impressed with), and this is my first time posting a thread....so bare with me, I'm a virgin to all of this. Anyway, I am sure this a extreamly wide open question but I am looking for all the knowledge I can get. I have been riding all my life but never until now owned a 4-stroke and I basicly dont (yea dont is a word in South Carolina :) ) have any idea about how to maintain it. I am very mechanicly inclined I used to be able to rebuild my 2-strokes in less than a hour but all I have done to my 426 is change the oil, cleaned the filter, lubed the chain,ect. I have heard that valve adjusting is a must but I have no idea even where to start. I love the bike :p , and now a pure junkie for the 4-stroke power. I have had it for a few weeks now and from what I can tell the bike motor has never been "gone through", its all stock, it runs great and lived a basicly pampered life. Until now that is :D . The only problems I have with it now that I have learned how to re-start it :D , is the packing is aparently burned out b/c its loud as hell and it backfires when you engine-break it or let out of the throttle, and I cannot get the factory suspension to make me happy. Im 6'3" 175lbs. Can anyone please point me in the right direction. Thanks. :)

• mountainriderWR400F

Posted March 23, 2005 - 08:54 PM

You can go to this website and go through all the tabs on top and there is a lot of info including maintenance it is for a 250 but all relevant to yamaha pretty much .
They are a lot easier to maintain compared to the CR500 I had ran like a raped ape but I love my 99WR400 all the power I need maintenance is as easy as the two stroke just a little more time consuming get your self a service manual and it has all the specs you need. :)

http://www.thumperfaq.com/valves.htm