kicking way to often

12 replies to this topic
  • freekstyle

Posted March 12, 2005 - 09:01 PM

I just purchased a 03 yz450. I ride a lot of trails and ride some mx. I took the bike out today for the first time and loved the power. Its strong and consistant and will also rev to outerspace. The problem is stalling. The bike kept dieing after letting off at low rpms. I just read about the accelerator pump and was thinking that I may be flooding it as i like to blip the throttle often. But even then it seems that it shouldnt die so often. I am new to fourstrokes and i was wondering if the stalling problem was rider error or a jetting /adjustment problem. I am ridding again tomarrow so if anyone who reads this has a suggestion I would like to hear it, otherwise I going to take it in for repair or adjustments on monday.

• freekstyle

Posted March 12, 2005 - 09:14 PM

By the way, the bike seems to idle fine. After it dies I have to use the hot start every time and give it about 5 to 10 kicks to get it going, after its running it will usually die once again when I let the clutch out unless I rev it and drop it enough to brake the rear tire loose big time. In my novice oppion I think it is too rich, but even if it is I am not exactly sure how to remedy this problem.

• mxracer452

Posted March 12, 2005 - 09:35 PM

i bought my 03 450f new and had a little problem like that at first kept stalling on me in the woods....but for me getting used to the fourstroke was the key...once u get used to it, you may never have another prob with it. if u bought it used i would check the jetting also....u never know if it was adjusted wrong from a previous owner...i have mine all stock jets and the fuel and air screw out 2 turns and i dropped the clip one position to raise the needle...i live in western pa.....and that setting seems to be the best for my bike.....but that should give u a good starting point....good luck

• freekstyle

Posted March 12, 2005 - 09:43 PM