Cross bar pad sub tank!

19 replies to this topic
  • trailriderjoe

Posted March 12, 2005 - 11:58 AM

Hey gang,
Since I'm a hydraulic engineer at heart, I set out on an idea a few days ago to make my own sub tank system. The real kicker was to find a new place to mount the tank. WR's have headlights and a lot of wiring right where the YZ's like to mount their tank(s) (back in behind the number plate). Didn't take too long while I set their in front of the bike with the tank in hand before I found its home.

The usual LH fitting mounted in fork endcap:
http://img.photobuck...oe/IMG_0860.jpg

The usual RH fitting mounted in fork endcap:
http://img.photobuck...oe/IMG_0861.jpg

Flow control valve mounted to cross bar pad:
http://img.photobuck...oe/IMG_0864.jpg

And the best part:
http://img.photobuck...oe/IMG_0865.jpg
http://img.photobuck...oe/IMG_0866.jpg

Yes my pad is replaced by a welded tube assembly with the fitting coming out the front side right by the flow control valve.

I added a little (1/4") high density foam to the tube under the cover. Used Polyconn quick connect fittings, and air brake line for all tubing.

Oh and by the way, it works GREAT :)

• mjslim

Posted March 12, 2005 - 12:53 PM

Nice job TRJ! Now to be perfectly anal (not in a Zigfried and Roy kind of way), figure out how to get rid of the cable ties holding the flow control valve and it will look super clean............:)

Perhaps I'm just ignorant, but what is a sub tank and what is it's purpose?...SC

A sub tank is an extra volume of air for your forks that gives you a plush ride over low speed bumps but stiffens up (that's what the flow control valve is for) over high speed bumps so you won't bottom out. Kind of gives you the best of both worlds.
Check out www.tootechracing.com for a detailed explanation

• toyota_mdt_tech

Posted March 12, 2005 - 12:54 PM

Anyone ask, tell them its nitrous! :)

• trailriderjoe

Posted March 12, 2005 - 01:09 PM