Chain Maintance

11 replies to this topic
  • curtains23

Posted March 10, 2005 - 12:34 PM

Is ther someone out there who can help me with this one?
03 YZ450, Lubrication and maintance of Renthal non O ring Chain,

I have tried spray on waxes and lubricants, putoline wax which is solid and
then heated with the chain in it, the wax contains graphite which then lubricates it, but have used 3 chains and 3 set of sprockets in 6 months
riding 5 hours per week, after each outing the chain is degreased and re lubed, chains are renthal, sprockets have been renthal, and J T steel,
If I changed to O Ring how do you clean them because use is mud/sand
without damaging the O rings, should I try X ring any help would be great.

CURTAIN23 :)

• Driftwood

Posted March 10, 2005 - 01:03 PM

Im new to mx, 1st bike since I was a teenager Got a 426. I use the motor oil from oil changes on my chain and it works great, oil it at track between rides. I wonder if you have a tension problem to tight? Hope some more people post for both our benefit good luck.

• MXof21

Posted March 10, 2005 - 02:36 PM

I am sure to get flamed on this but I have been running the same O-Ring chain on my YZ450F for a year and a half and have not had to adjust it once. The only thing I do to it is spray it down very well with WD-40 after each ride. Some will tell you that WD-40 eats the rubber 0-Rings but it is working great for me. The real bonus is that your chain and sprockets stay looking like new. FYI - I probably put 100-150 hours on my bike per year.

• grayracer513

Posted March 10, 2005 - 02:43 PM

Is ther someone out there who can help me with this one?
03 YZ450, Lubrication and maintance of Renthal non O ring Chain,

I have tried spray on waxes and lubricants, putoline wax which is solid and
then heated with the chain in it, the wax contains graphite which then lubricates it, but have used 3 chains and 3 set of sprockets in 6 months