04 450 Suspension Setup

10 replies to this topic
  • GENE426

Posted March 07, 2005 - 11:06 AM

I HAVE A 2004 YZ450 AND I CAN'T SEEM TO GET THE SUSPENSION SETUP RIGHT.
I AM A NOVICE RIDER AT CYCLERANCH (WWW.CYCLERANCHMX.COM) AND NEED SOME HELP. IT SEEM LIKE THE SUSPENSION IS TO HARSH, I HAVE ALL THE CLICKERS SET AT 11 CLICKS OUT. I WEIGH 205 LBS AND I HAVE MESSED WITH IT BACK AND FORTH BUT JUST CAN NOT GET IT RIGHT.
CAN SOMEONE TELL ME WHAT IS THE BEST (CORRECT) POSITION FOR THE SETUP?
HOW MANY CLICK IN OR OUT ON THE SUSPENSION
THANKS FOR ANY HELP YA CAN GIVE ME

:p :D :D :o
:) :) ;) :D

• grayracer513

Posted March 07, 2005 - 01:20 PM

First, let's get off the caps lock key, shall we? Poor posting etiquette.

Second, be sure your springs are heavy enough for your weight. Too low a spring rate puts too much of the compression load on the dampers, so they end up feeling harsh. It's the most important part of setting up your suspension.

I'm about 190 in street clothes, and I run .48 front springs and a 5.8 rear.

Use the method of comparing race sag to static sag to check your rear spring rate.
How to set your race sag

Use race sag to check your spring rate

Try this info to get you started on damper settings: MX Tech Tuning Page

Also consider a sub tank setup. Too Tech, Enzo, and others sell them, but you can make your own, as I did. Sub Tank

Good Luck :)

• GENE426

Posted March 07, 2005 - 01:31 PM

Sorry About The Caps But Im A Architect / Contractor And Alway Print In Caps It Ususally Changes It In The Quick Reply Box
I Have The Race Sag Set Right Just On Breaking Bumps And Rollers The Bike Is Rough
Over Jumps And Off Cambers Its Great
What Do You Have Your Clickers Set At?
Top Fork Bottom Fork Top And Bottom Rear?
Im Going To Get Pro Action In Austin To Do My Suspensio Soon But For Now I Need A Little Help

Thanks
Gene

• Chazlom

Posted March 07, 2005 - 09:04 PM