48.4 bhp ???? what you think

12 replies to this topic
  • benuk

Posted March 01, 2005 - 12:25 AM

i had my yz450 on the dyno yesterday and i got 48.4 bhp at the rear wheel is this good or bad for the mods ive got >?? :) i was hoping for more :) think its about 56ish bhp engine power when you take all the drive train loss off etc

450cc
hotcams
gasflowed head
bk mod
power now etc etc

full spec in my garage :p

• rws

Posted March 01, 2005 - 06:10 AM

I'm new to this game... but I thought I'd read somewhere that the YZ-F produced 46-48 hp off the showroom floor. Not sure though.

Whatever it is... I need to find a gripper seat to keep my butt on the bike when I twist the throttle! Can't imagine more to contend with. Have fun!

• SSpeeDEMONSS

Posted March 01, 2005 - 06:20 PM

i know im down 24 or so cc's but ive got a hi-comp piston, hot cams auto-decomp exhaust cam, BK carb mod, and a modified exhaust, could my hp possibly be near that?

• Crabtree426

Posted March 01, 2005 - 07:37 PM

I have a 2000 YZ426. I was always told it had 46-47 HP. I would think the 450 has 52 or so but I'm not sure.

• ISBB

Posted March 01, 2005 - 08:38 PM

From my experience if you slap a dirt tire on a dyno you are not going to get an accurate reading... the tire is probably slipping giving you the lesser HP reading... i had a buddy that dynoed a cr500af that had a mild port job and said he only had 40 hp when we all know that there is more than that in a cr500... after swapping for a street tire... he was really close to 60.. :) big diffrence...

• Joe_Jet

Posted March 01, 2005 - 08:41 PM

All dynos are different. The important thing is do you feel it, and did you dyno it before the mods to read the gain?

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • benuk

Posted March 02, 2005 - 01:00 AM

but could the stock 50ish bhp be at the engine not at the wheel :) if so ive made a 6bhp gain and i dont think thats bad :)