newbie here with a 98 YZ400F

7 replies to this topic
  • hookedonjuice

Posted February 22, 2005 - 09:50 PM

hello everyone, i have been doing some reading on this site and have found out a grat deal of info, this place is awsome :)

i just got back into dirtbikes 2 weeks ago with a purchase of a 1998 YZ400F.
i used to ride and race a 94 RM250 about 8 years ago and traded for street bike. well i am back into dirt and have some questions.

the bike is a 98 YZ400F with FMF titanium 4 exhaust but not sure on head pipe, new tires front and rear, new chain and sprockets and pro taper fatty bars. paid $1800 for it.

just rebuilt carb completely, new front wheel bearing, clutch lever and grips.

i need to reseal the forks, what weight oil and do i need to change the springs for just motox testing and maybe later on some races? also i thought about changing the spring on the rear shock while i am working on it. what spring would you reccomend for me? i am 6'0 245 pounds. i want something to handle some decent jumps, doubles, step ups, whoops etc.

also i have a bad bog from off idle to half or WOT positions. it is really anoying. the jets in the carb are stock so i figure i need to re-jet. any recomendations are welcome. i also geta blue flame from the muffler when i let off the throttle, is this normal on these 4 strokes with aftermarket exhausts?

i went to the track with it last weekend and made 2 medium paced laps not really jumping to hard and i got back in the pits and barley could walk r hold up the bike, i was so fatigue after 2 laps, i never had that happen with the 2 smoke. is there something i can do to help this? suspension? engine mods? i am not it top physical shape but not a blob either i am very active but i can do the same laps on my brothers quad and i am fine and that is being very agressive with the laps.

sorry for the long post but i had alot of questions for you all. thanks for taking time to read this and for the replys :)

• yzfxr