wr426 Testimonial

6 replies to this topic
  • GC265

Posted February 13, 2005 - 06:07 PM

Newbie here, recently picked up 01 wr426 (cut screw, lid off, 13/50). first ride...it rode me. Got on TT, did a little research (OK, a lot of research), then dropped the 3clamp 10mm, dialed in the sag. All I can say is WOW, this bike is awesome, handling is so much better. Goes where I want, when I want (operator induced error aside :D ).
I would have never figured this out on my own, thinking "If Yamaha set it up that way, it must be correct"

Anyway thanks to all here who make TT possible! And those who share their wisdom and experience! :) :p :)

• dirtr1der

Posted February 13, 2005 - 06:25 PM

GC,

What did you dial in the sag at??? The suspension is the only thing I didn't mess with on mine last year. I bought an '02 last spring. The rider before me was the same weight, ( 200 lbs) just a bit shorter.

How about the damping and rebound? Did you mess with those?

Congrats on the getting your ride straight! :)

• r1superstar

Posted February 13, 2005 - 06:29 PM

Newbie here, recently picked up 01 wr426 (cut screw, lid off, 13/50). first ride...it rode me. Got on TT, did a little research (OK, a lot of research), then dropped the 3clamp 10mm, dialed in the sag. All I can say is WOW, this bike is awesome, handling is so much better. Goes where I want, when I want (operator induced error aside :D ).
I would have never figured this out on my own, thinking "If Yamaha set it up that way, it must be correct"

Anyway thanks to all here who make TT possible! And those who share their wisdom and experience! :p :) :D

Congrats and Enjoy! :)

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • GC265

Posted February 13, 2005 - 06:48 PM

I set the sag to 4", I know that's on the far end of the manual suggests, but I figured I would have to let out all the tension just so I wouldn't feel like a midget on a circus bike!