Newbie Here...

12 replies to this topic
  • Pooley

Posted August 08, 2001 - 09:07 PM

Hi folks,

I have been checking in with this board for a while now and finally registered so I could ask some questions.

I am eagerly awaiting my upcoming purchase of a WR426 and wanted to ask some questions of the Michigan members.

I will be joining the CCC in Michigan and would like to know whether or not the 426 will pass the 94 dB sound test with the "free" performance mods - baffle, airbox, stop and grey wire. I want to have the best performance I can but want to comply with regulations.
Thanks.

Pooley

• *mike68*

Posted August 08, 2001 - 09:37 PM

It won't pass with the baffle out.

• ChrisG

Posted August 08, 2001 - 12:17 PM

Does anyone know what the db level is with a stock set up with the baffle removed?

• Pooley

Posted August 08, 2001 - 03:52 PM

OK,

If the bike will not pass the dB test with the baffle out, should I bother with the airbox mod, using the stock exhaust.

Thanks.
Pooley

• Guest_Guest_*

Posted August 08, 2001 - 08:06 PM

Welcome to the board Pooley!

• Greg_C

Posted August 09, 2001 - 04:27 AM

Pooley, Congratulations on the new bike. You will love it. I am not positive but I think that the stock pipe with the Vortip insert will come in below 94DB and have more power. You mite also look into the FMF Q series I think it claims to be around 94DB. Try not to stay up nights thinking about your new bike. :)

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • Pooley

Posted August 09, 2001 - 05:29 PM

Originally posted by Greg C:
Try not to stay up nights thinking about your new bike. :)

Too late...I've been having trouble falling asleep ever since I decided to sell my street bike and get a trail bike. By the way, anyone looking for a 94 Honda Magna, 750cc V-4, with tons of goodies? I'm in Michigan.

• Gobbler801

Posted August 09, 2001 - 05:57 PM

Welcome!

• ChrisG