is the o5 yz250 fasyer the the wr450f

8 replies to this topic
  • new2fourstrokes

Posted February 08, 2005 - 02:04 AM

guy's what is the faster bike in a straight line..

• ThumperKid250F

Posted February 08, 2005 - 03:25 AM

o boy here we go again. :cry:

it depends on how they are geared but stock, the wr 450 will be faster in a straight line cuz it has a WIDE ratio gear box.

• new2fourstrokes

Posted February 08, 2005 - 03:46 AM

sorry guy's I'm new to this.. i did do a search but it didn't show the topic that i asked sorry for any inconvenience.. :cry:

• Indy_WR450

Posted February 08, 2005 - 04:17 AM

I would say below 40 mph the YZ250 is quicker but after that the WR450 is faster and has the torque to get up and go from higher speeds. :cry:

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • MathProf

Posted February 08, 2005 - 05:37 AM

It has been said that, in the hands of equal riders,

the 2 stroke will go faster but will require more rider effort and attention to detail.

The 4 stroke will be easier to ride fast for a longer period of time but you won't feel as fast. "Feeling" doesn't mean you are not going fast, I just means the bike requires less rider input to position and handle the bike.

• new450

Posted February 08, 2005 - 08:39 AM

The YZ will be quicker (time)
THe WR will be faster (speed)

• un450azul

Posted February 08, 2005 - 04:31 PM

At a recent desert race (DMC) my buddy and I lined up next to each other for the bomb run (~1 mi.), he on a yz250 (tweeked), me on a WR450F. It was a dead engine start so I got off just a little quicker with the button but he quickly caught and passed me. I caught him just as I grapped 4th and we stayed side by side till the end of the bomb, he was WFO and I was half throttle 5th gear. I didn’t dare go any faster because the front was washing badly in the whoops.