what oil do you use with your rekluse?

15 replies to this topic
  • mtrablue

Posted January 25, 2005 - 09:01 PM

I've had my Recluse clutch for a while now and just can't seem to come up with an engine oil that gives me the best clutch performance. I've been using Spectro oils in my bikes for a few years but had to much "slip" when the Rekluse was installed. As per company advice, I went with the additional carbide balls. At that time i changed to the suggested Chevron Delo series oil. The clutch worked great but the oil seemed to break down pretty quick. I was worried that the Chevron oil just wasn't up to the needs of a modern four stroke. I started using the Yamalube4 but I'm still not convinced I've found the right oil. What are the rest of you Rekluse owners using?

• robertt

Posted January 25, 2005 - 09:12 PM

red-cap

• Chipstien

Posted January 25, 2005 - 10:19 PM

I believe Rekluse reccomends Delo. :cry:

• Desracer

Posted January 25, 2005 - 11:13 PM

The boys at Rekluse like the Delo oil and it works well in my bike also. They also change the oil in their bikes often, like rides of 50 miles. With my bikes hour meter my oil changes are down to 10 hours max running time. On really hard on the clutch rides even less time between changes. As they say it's a small price to pay for the performance of the clutch and your engine life. On really hot days I have used Valvoline 40wt, the straight weight oil breaks down slower and gave me good clutch action.

• ncmountainman

Posted January 26, 2005 - 07:38 AM

i use the delo mixed 50/50 with the mobil 1 redcap 15-50. it works very well,i can tell the difference in the way the clutch engages its alot smoother with the mix compared to straight delo or straight mobil 1. best of both worlds??? :cry:

• bigdrtrdr

Posted January 26, 2005 - 08:51 AM

I havent treid mixing oils yet but, Mobile 1 R/C works great for me.

• RichBaker

Posted January 26, 2005 - 01:05 PM

Castrol ACT-EVO 10w40, year-round.

• youngwerth