05' WR450 for tight single track??

12 replies to this topic
  • backinthedirt

Posted January 22, 2005 - 04:42 PM

I'm getting closer to making a decision on my new ride. I currently have an '04 KTM 300E and want a four stroke in a bad way! (I have another post out there trying to make a choice between the WR and KTM 450). I only ride tight mid-west single track, I'm not an expert rider but I have been riding dirt bikes since the 70's. (NO fossil jokes!) I still race some Hare Scrambles and ride almost every week. I've recently given the WR 450 a hard look since they have made some changes to it. I have done extensive searches on this site and I mainly hear about how the WR is best on wide open trails. My buddy rides an '04 Husky TE450 and we swap bikes occasionally and I have fallen in love with the power that is allways on tap. Would the WR feel anything like the Husky? Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Pete

• Indy_WR450

Posted January 22, 2005 - 05:28 PM

I would get the KTM 525 EXC if you want tight woods and lots of power!
The WR450 is really a great all around bike but you just wont see it on the top of any specialized catagory of riding. :cry:

• Hamish

Posted January 22, 2005 - 06:24 PM

if tight single trail is your game i'd be looking at a WR250

• HighPlainsWR

Posted January 22, 2005 - 08:26 PM

Hey BITD,

Indy is right for the most part, unless you want to spend some $. Try what I did on my 03' WR4-Nifty. Put a 52 rear sprocket on and custom fit a chain to fit all the way forward in the swingarm slider. Then raise your forks 5mm in the tripleclamp. This will equal or exceed the Husky feel with a first gear off idle that will climb a wall. If you're really keen on tight, spend some more $ and change your camber to a taller rake. Then the WR will rail like an RM250. This combined with a Revloc clutch make any single track I have ridden in CO/UT a breeze.

P.S. Hey Indy, is that Monitor and Merimack in UT behind you in your avatar?