Flamethrower!!!!

12 replies to this topic
  • dunecj2a

Posted January 19, 2005 - 06:31 PM

OK now I am on part II from my post earlier this week :cry: I am new to 4 strokes and believe that I am an idiot when it comes to carb adjustmments. :cry: I have an 04 450 that is still running like crap from closed throttle to about 1/4. I got some advice earlier this week and have not tried everything yet. I cleaned out the carb ports, jets, and chambers.
Now the fuel screw does make a difference when I adjust it but I still have that bad bog right off the bottom. I have the complete FMF Titanium 4 system. 42 pilot jet, 165 main, 3d clip on the needle.
The bike is now spitting out flames and the idle is really sporadic. Its revving real high then it just drops. It bogs when you gas it and then shoots flames and idles really rough. I jetted the way FMF told me. What do you guys think :cry: The flames look cool, but I hate the way it runs :cry:

• jimmyg

Posted January 19, 2005 - 06:44 PM

is it bogging when on the stand or when riding?

• Chills

Posted January 19, 2005 - 07:06 PM

How far out did you screw the Fuel Mix out? Once you get to a certain point, you have to change the pilot. DSP recommends after 3 1/2, but I think if you have to go to 3 and still get the hesitation, you need to bump your pilot, and screw the fiel mix back in.

I my recomendation would be drop the clip on the need down to #4, put the fuel mix screw back to where it was, and try again. If you are still getting bad hesitation, and after trying to adjust the fuel Mix screw 1/4 at a time, bump the pilot jet up, and start over again...

• dunecj2a

Posted January 19, 2005 - 07:51 PM

is it bogging when on the stand or when riding?

On the stand, I havent had a chance to ride it yet.

• dunecj2a

Posted January 19, 2005 - 07:55 PM