Stupid Question time

8 replies to this topic
  • jasv11

Posted January 13, 2005 - 01:27 PM

Seing that I am new to these type of bikes and My WR426 didn't come with a manual.

How do you get a correct oil dipstick reading?

Mines always changing...looks low, so I add some oil, then it's too full.:cry:

When I change the oil it takes forever for it all to drain:excuseme:

Am I an idiot?:cry:

• snmhanson

Posted January 13, 2005 - 01:32 PM

When you drain your oil are you letting your bike heat up a little bit to thin the oil? I have to do that with my tractor otherwise it takes forever to drain.

Matt

• Indy_WR450

Posted January 13, 2005 - 01:40 PM

Only read it after running the bike for 10 seconds. Oil will drain out of the frame if you let it sit and the level will read incorectly.:cry:

• Gadsen

Posted January 13, 2005 - 01:47 PM

Only stupid question is the one thats not asked. Dry sump, you will drain out plenty if its sat overnight from the crankcase. Otherwise, the rest needs to be drained from the frame. I'd let it run a minute and check. Keep in mind, warmer oil will read higher.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • jasv11

Posted January 13, 2005 - 02:00 PM

Only stupid question is the one thats not asked. Dry sump, you will drain out plenty if its sat overnight from the crankcase. Otherwise, the rest needs to be drained from the frame. I'd let it run a minute and check. Keep in mind, warmer oil will read higher.

Thanks a bunch,

I think I understand whats happening, before I go for a ride it's always low and when I come home it's always too full.:cry:

I've never owned a dry sump bike before:confused:

Okay! so do you drain the frame AND the crankcase when you change the oil if your in a rush,
If not the crankcase will drain everything over night....gotcha:thumbsup:

• Sylvain

Posted January 13, 2005 - 04:17 PM

Better be safe than sorry for not asking :cry: .