Help for a newbie modding his 05 wr450

3 replies to this topic
  • minion

Posted January 01, 2005 - 10:33 AM

Hello. I just got my new '05 wr450. I've been following the threads on this list, as well as reading other reviews, before I purchased the bike - I didn't see a lot of bad press about the bike, other than people here grumbling over the necessary mods. :cry: So hopefully I made the right decision.

Either way, I've upgraded to this bike from my Honda '81 XR500, which still runs like a champ. I never found it to need any tweaks - its always preformed great for what I liked to do. But the new wr450 has a few issues. I'm new to tearing about carbs and rejetting stuff, so I was hoping someone could shed some light on a few of things I may need to do to this bike.

My bike seems to run way too lean at my altitude. I'm between 800 and 900ft. When I'm idling, or going slow, it will die. Is this something that can be cured by installing a Zip-Ty screw? Do I need to take the carb apart and push the plug out from the inside? I'm not sure exactly how to do that mod.

Does the grey wire mod make it run any better at low RPMs? I've considered running a wire to the handlebars ( someone posted this ) and installing a switch for the grey wire, so I can choose the timing.

Jetting is something totally new to me. I read a lot about people complaining the new 05 doesn't have adjustable jets. If I replace the stock ones, how easy is it to adjust them once they're installed? I'm currently at 800-900 feet, but later this summer I'm going out to Colorado at about 8000-9000 ft (SW of Denver, in the mtns). This area is new to me, and the one friend I ride with doesn't do this stuff either, so I have no one to draw experience from first hand.

I plan on getting the bike plated as well - can anyone suggest a place to buy a new ignition switch, so I can replace the stock button with a key?