650R starting issues..

5 replies to this topic
  • SParki

Posted December 31, 2004 - 02:52 AM

I was riding along yesterday on road when suddenly all dies... no warning, no spluttering, no engine noise... nothing.

No work was done prior to this happening, no plug change, adjustments or anything similar. It started fine every morning and goes as expected.... b&^%$4y quick through traffic :cry:

so after checking for fuel in the carb (of which there is plenty), spark at the plug (which appears plentiful too.. plus a spare plug which is a known good was tested), and loose connections I'm at a bit of a loss of where to start looking for the problem.

If this were a 2Smoke it wouldn't be a problem but I'm new to this baby and haven't owned it for a particularly long period... overall condition is excellant but obviously problems can happen at any time. I would appreciate any assistance or pointers in the right direction :cry:

Thanks all and have a great New Year :cry:

• loufish

Posted December 31, 2004 - 08:52 AM

I'll spray WD40, or starting fluid in the air cleaner, if it starts for a second or two, then I know it's a fuel problem, if it dosen't then I look for electrical issues. Make sure the connector from the stator hasn't come undone, check for voltage to the coil also.

• pb1963

Posted December 31, 2004 - 02:53 PM

I had a similar problen with my brp. Riding along with no warning and it just died. After checking spark, fuel you name it I couldn't figure out what the problem was. I took the top of the carb off and the little spring that holds the keeper pin in for the slide had come off and the slide fell to the bottom of the carb. You might check it. Good luck

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • Oddiemx

Posted January 02, 2005 - 05:11 AM