1999 Yz400 Will Not Start

14 replies to this topic
  • johnsonm.a

Posted December 28, 2004 - 05:56 AM

Guys I need some help. I am new to the Dirt bike world. I have always run 4 wheelers and started running dirtbikes this year because I got my son a ttr90 last year . I got this nice used 99 YZ400F this summer. It run good for a few months now it will not start for nothin. I am in Tennessee.
I have changed the spark plug
Change the Air Filter.
It has a Handle bar Hot Start on it.

I have no Idea why it will not start. I bought a factory spark plug I asked if it was pregapped and the parts guy said "yes". Is that right?

Does any one have any other suggestions?
I have read some of the forums and notice something about Jetting. Would I need to rejett after a plug change?

From some internet research it seems these older 90 model yamahas are known for hard starts.

Any help or suggestions would be great.

Mike

• yz400fl1

Posted December 28, 2004 - 07:01 AM

If the spark plug is new you will not have to rejet. And the spark plugs do come from factory pregapped. Make sure you do not touch the throttle at all. Even when it is off it will still flood it. When I first got my 99 it was hard to start and I just heard from everyone else what to do and did what worked best for me. My bike is bone stock and this is what I do:

1. With gas turned on, and cold start pulled out(black knob). Kick, with decomp lever in, about 3 times.

2. Let decomp lever out. Kick until it stops because of compression(it may take more take once)

3. Take kick start all the way to top. Pull in decomp lever and very slowly push kick starter so the piston is at top-dead-center( about 1 to 2 inches of movement of the end of the kick starter)

4. Bring kick starter to the very top and mak sure it grabs the last click.

5. Let go of decomp lever, and hand off throttle, KICK LIKE HELL!

6. If it doesn't fire up repeat 2-5.