Rekluse Z-start question??????

7 replies to this topic
  • firezwr426

Posted December 10, 2004 - 07:43 AM

I was thinking of buying a z-start for my wr but I have a couple of questions... I have a magura juice clutch that I just spent well over a hundred bucks rebuilding the whole system, is it possible to use together or do I have to go back to cable? Is this something that an intermediate wrencher could install? Is it tough enough to last quite a while (I'm 250lbs.)?
are the downsides worth the benefits? anybody have reliability issues or horror stories?

Thanks in advance, and sorry for so many questions..
all knowledgeable feedback is very appreciated

• bigdrtrdr

Posted December 10, 2004 - 08:51 AM

You'd have to talk to Rekluse directly aboun the Hydro clutch.
I'm an average mechanic with basic knowledge and I had my 01 wr running in about 2 hours. I also am a big guy 265 lbs, I instaled the Z start onto my stock clutch plates with over 4000 miles on them and have had Zero problems.
My buddy just put money down on a 05 CRF450X and has already ordered a Z clutch for it after riding my bike
Good luck
Eric

• firezwr426

Posted December 11, 2004 - 08:15 AM

any other z-starters?

• Dingo151

Posted December 11, 2004 - 10:14 AM

Yeah, I've got one!

I love it. It took me about two hours to install the clutch after that its been smooth sailing ever since. The bad thing is you're going to have to loose your magura. I had the same situation and couldn't make the thing work with the lever. However after about three rides I took the lever off. I was having more problems adjusting when I had the lever to play with. The thing I'm going to try is seeing if the Magura can be retofitted to actuate the rear brake :cry:

Good luck
Dean

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • John_Lorenz

Posted December 11, 2004 - 10:59 AM