help needed please

16 replies to this topic
  • alfie

Posted November 28, 2004 - 06:01 AM

Im running my 01 wr 400 on fully synth putoline engine oil and at the moment im changing the oil every ride. and cleaning the oil filter every second ride and replace the filter every 5th oil change. Do you guys think this is over kill or not?. And im just about to fit a magnetic drain plug im also pretty new to blue as ive only had mine for about six weeks so any help is appreciated.

• ETP

Posted November 28, 2004 - 06:55 AM

When my key broke, the bike sputtered and backfired like crazy when trying to electric start.
Pull the side case and check it out.

• Dan_Lorenze

Posted November 28, 2004 - 07:22 AM

In 2001 WRs were 426's, you might be incorrect on what year you have or what size motor you have. Regarless, I think changing the oil "every" ride IS overkill... I think a good rule of thumb is to change the oil every few hundred miles or so. It's true, you can never really change the oil too much but I think you're creating more work and spending more money than you need to. I used to clean my oil filters out and re-use them just to save a little cash.

good luck, Dan

• alfie

Posted November 28, 2004 - 08:12 AM

Do you think id be better staying with the brass oil filter or going to the newer type papper oil filter. :cry:

• banffboy

Posted November 28, 2004 - 08:37 AM

Alfie, stick with what Dan said. I change my oil every 7-10 hrs(about 3 rides sometimes 4). I just clean my oil filter in a solvent and re-use it, no need for the disposable paper ones

• alfie

Posted November 28, 2004 - 08:44 AM

Cheers guys thanks for your help

• 5valve

Posted November 29, 2004 - 02:50 AM

dan, WR400's were made up to the 02..prolongued production for some markets because of the 400 race class

about oil change, i do mine every 625 miles, regardless the terrain, tranny still working as with new oil (soft) and oil consumption from max reaching to the middle point