Brand New Bike Won't Run

15 replies to this topic
  • Seabass

Posted October 31, 2004 - 03:10 PM

Well I spent all day putting on new triple clamps, steering damper, handle bars, hand guards, and grips. I did all the free mods (cut throttle stop, pulled grey wire, uncorked the exhaust), and now the thing won't start! It started and after letting it warm up I pushed the choke back in and bam! the bike just quit. It would only run with the choke on and the idle was get real high and then go back to normal. After letting it idle in my driveway for a few minutes the thing just quit and now it won't start!!! Will the WR not run unless a bigger main jet is installed? I can't believe I sold a perfect XR 650 that ran like a bat outta hell for a brand new bike I can't get started!!! AAAAAARGH! By the way, it's on '05 WR 450

• rickmiester

Posted October 31, 2004 - 03:22 PM

hey seabass i would reconnect the grey wire and put the cork back in , im new to the 4stroke bikes but i try starting back at the begining i just bought a 04 wr450 only 90 miles on it so far , for the other stuff handle bars steering dampner shouldnt make a diff, did you take the slide out of the carb, i did and found out the hard way about the vacuum plate on the slide put it in upside down.

• Indy_WR450

Posted October 31, 2004 - 03:33 PM

Did you turn your fuel on? Is there gas in the tank? :cry: You may have to rejet. Stock jetting is very lean. 48 pilot & 72 starter jet should help. Check that your fuel screw is not shut. It needs to be out about 2 turns. :cry:

• Seabass

Posted October 31, 2004 - 04:15 PM

Did you turn your fuel on? Is there gas in the tank? :cry: You may have to rejet. Stock jetting is very lean. 48 pilot & 72 starter jet should help. Check that your fuel screw is not shut. I need to be out about 2 turns. :cry: