need help: buying 02 xr650l

3 replies to this topic
  • xrbuck

Posted October 28, 2004 - 08:09 AM

Hi folks, newbie here looking to buy an 02 xr650l from local dealer. Has 2200 miles, and I found out engine was rebuilt under warranty by dealer due to kinked oil hose frying the engine. So it's a new engine. Bike hasn't been crashed from what I can tell, was used by a older guy to ride on his property. Dealer asking $3000 and won't budge on price, so I asked for new headers (they are gunked up and brown, and a new front tire). Oh yeah, bike has extended warranty till march 06, so I thought this kinds of puts the deal over the top.

They also have an 03 with 1900 miles for $4000 and won't budge on that either.

These prices seem in the ballpark. What do you guys and girls think? Should I buy one of these and shut up or keep trying to beat down the dealer a little bit? Any advice appreciated. I'll have plenty of questions later. BTW, I rode dirt as a kid (now 43) and now ride a FZ1 and VTX 1800, both about to go to sleep for the winter here in VT. :cry:

Thanks! :cry:

• resslera

Posted October 28, 2004 - 08:45 AM

The 02 for $3,000 looks good considering the rebuild and extended warrenty. KBB shows about $4,000 for the bike so it looks like a pretty good deal!

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • babbs

Posted October 28, 2004 - 09:38 AM

There are always a few on Ebay at any given moment. Usually with low miles. Most have a pretty low reserve, and I'm sure if you called the seller you could work a deal. Buying from an individual is nice because you don't pay tax (write up a reciept saying $1 sale to use at the DMV for registration), and you can haggle. Dealers rarely loose money on a deal.

• xrbuck

Posted October 28, 2004 - 02:38 PM