I screwed up torquing bolt - Please help

18 replies to this topic
  • Stumped

Posted October 18, 2004 - 12:39 PM

:cry: OK, I screwed up BIG time. I did the cam mod with Hot Cams, everything went great (well almost), I torqued the freaking bolts to spec and actually set it a little lower and the last freaking bolt sheared off.

Also, I am not sure that I rotated the cam one sprocket back.
I am not a mechanic, at least not a good one...
What is my best solution? Should I take it to my local shop or try to drill it out myself (I don't have the tools to do that anyway)?

• tc66nova

Posted October 18, 2004 - 01:27 PM

Do you know a COMPETENT machinist? I fix that sort of thing all the time. But if you are not qualified and or don't have the right equipment DO NOT touch it. I have fixed alot of broken bolts that took a couple of hours that the owner had tried himself. With the right tools it usually takes just a few minutes. The right way to do it is a center drill to locate and then try a left hand drill. Usually the drill will catch as it goes thru and run the bolt right out.

• jespertheil

Posted October 18, 2004 - 01:38 PM

Exactly like tc66nova said... DON`T try to fix what is broken....
Take it somewhere with the right tools..
If you try to drill it out, you might end up with a lot of metal falling further down resulting a casesplit also... For a pro this problem can be over in 30 minutes or less..

• YZ250F_Rider

Posted October 18, 2004 - 01:49 PM

The cost to get it fixed will be a lot cheaper than to replace the head if you butcher the repair. Let somebody help.

• tc66nova

Posted October 18, 2004 - 02:32 PM

Stumped, where do you live? If you are anywhere near Ohio I would be willing to help you out.

• Stumped

Posted October 18, 2004 - 04:31 PM

Hey thanks for the offer, but I'm in Maryland. I'll take it to my local shop.

freakin yamaha manual.

• SXP

Posted October 18, 2004 - 04:40 PM

freakin yamaha manual.