drilling holes in 650L baffle any help ?

3 replies to this topic
  • roadcam

Posted October 06, 2004 - 04:33 PM

I'm just too cheap to spend $300-$500 to gain 1 HP from my XR650L with an aftermarket pipe ( I'll just lose 40 pounds of beergut, and REALLY make an improvement ! ) ... would drilling a bunch of small holes in my baffle be of any help, without getting too loud ?

• 4WheelingPlus

Posted October 07, 2004 - 01:26 PM

I am no expert but I have been researching this same sort of thing...

If you open or remove the baffle it does make the bike louder. I removed mine. You loose the whistle effect and get a deeper sounds.

I am told that you loose bottom end as well. I cannot say for certain as I have made several other changes and the end result is a crappy throttle response.

I have been "playing" with mine and it seems there is a certain combo of steps you need to take to improve the motor.

I haven't perfected mine yet so I can't tell you the exact combo. It does involve de-smogging, better air cleaner, and possible jetting changes in the carb.

Baja Designs is helping me right now with my jetting task. Give them a call and tell them what you want the bike to do and maybe they can get you in the right direction.

http://www.bajadesigns.com/

Ron Dunn Jr
http://www.4WheelingPlus.com

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • hotwheels

Posted October 07, 2004 - 03:09 PM