I think it's time to add weight to the flywheel, what's best?

28 replies to this topic
  • MaxAZ

Posted October 04, 2004 - 05:32 PM

I primarily use my bike for desert and enduro riding. And lately I've been getting more into the technical single track trails where there's more basketball sized rocks than dirt. I've had enough of stalling on rocky rutted uphill climbs and I think I want to add a little weight on the flywheel. I've heard it's a simple job but how much weight do you typically add and what are the best vendors to get the weights from? I'm not an expert rider or anything but I don't want to give up much throttle response off the botom by over-weighting.

• Fastest1

Posted October 04, 2004 - 05:36 PM

Of course I will vote for an auto clutch first but that is me. Any weight added to the crank will decrease stalling, do you do any track riding? Throttle response will be more affected the heavier you go. I would think a 4oz weight would be a good all around weight. Dubach, Zip Ty all sell flywheel weights, some bolt on and some you change the flywheel or weld on.

• rush66

Posted October 04, 2004 - 06:18 PM

an auto clutch would be awesome if they made one for the 400 rekluse doesn't have one out yet. fly wheel weight next best thing I went with the zipty drill and tap 10oz since I mainly trail ride with minimal moto. the 400 stalls easy I'd go with a 6oz for moto and 8oz for both and the bike does rev a little bit slower but still has plenty of pop. Less stalling more tractable and smoother it's a great mod.

• MaxAZ

Posted October 04, 2004 - 06:21 PM

Do the weights ever have to be balanced like half on one side and half on the other?

• Chipstien

Posted October 04, 2004 - 06:47 PM

Go with a 10 or 12. I don't feel the "difference per dollar" is worth it with less then 10. Maybe an 8. Don't go less then 8 unless you MX. :cry:

• John407

Posted October 04, 2004 - 09:31 PM

Actually I MX with a 10oz Steahy bolt on. I would not ride without it.