XR to WR

34 replies to this topic
  • deadeyedick

Posted September 25, 2004 - 11:10 PM

I've been searching for a new bike for the last while. I curerntly ride a 1989 XR250. I'm 5'8 and a buck fiddy. I've been riding consistantly for the last 7 years, off and on the past 23. I mostly ride tight trails up in the mountains about twice a year i go to the desert which here in oregon you get wide open and tight high desert volcanic trails. I'm 5'8 and a buck fiddy.

I'm considering a few bikes

XR 400 : Tricked out with 440, supension upgrades, maybe a cam.

WR's 250, bore it out to 280 or whatever the size is.
400, 426, 450 : keep em stock, maybe a pipe or mx rear fender, skid plate.

Or perhaps a YZF 400, 426, 450: Heavier flywheel and WR cam.

I'm trying to get a bike that fits my riding tendancies the best. I know how an XR 400 handles, it's just heavier and more power.

I was looking to get some input from you Blue riders. Are the WR's good for this type of riding or do they like more open terain? Can a YZF be made into a decent woods bike (don't realy care about the lights)?

Any info you guys could give me would be great as i have never ridden the newer designed fourstrokes (can't realy count a new XR as a new design). Any suggestions on what model would be the best bet with regards to issues, pros and cons would be appreciated.

I'll have a chance to ride a yzf426 (all stock) in the near future but I'm not sure if that will give me an accurate comparison to what I'm after.

Thx

• TooFaarOut

Posted September 26, 2004 - 07:04 AM